Why You Need DUI Attorneys If You Want to Keep Your Driver’s License
If you’ve been charged with a DUI in Lenexa, KS, you need good DUI attorneys who you can trust. A DUI can lead to the loss of your license, massive fines, or even jail time. Fortunately, just because you’re charged with a DUI doesn’t mean that you’re automatically guilty. Good lawyers can challenge your conviction in court and help you reduce or even overturn your charges.
DUI Attorneys Can Help You File the Proper Paperwork
When you’re charged with a DUI, it’s important to act immediately. You do not have the luxury of time, and if you don’t talk to an attorney right away, your options could be limited. In addition, if you want to maintain your license, you need to file an immediate appeal. It’s not a complete given that you will lose your license after a DUI, and a good team of attorneys who know Kansas law can certainly help you retain it.
You need to file paperwork within 14 days if you want to salvage your license. There’s also additional paperwork and steps that you need to take to reduce the impact of your charges. A good legal team can help you navigate all of the paperwork and ensure that you’re doing everything by the book.
Possible Consequence and Charges in Lenexa, KS
One of the biggest reasons you should partner with a good legal team after getting a DUI is that every case is different. There are several factors that contribute to how serious your charges will be, and only someone proficient in Kansas law will be able to explain them to you.
Consequences for Different Types of Offenders
Generally speaking, the severity of your punishment will hinge on what type of offender you are. First-time offenders can face a host of charges. The most serious ones are six months in jail, suspended license, having your car impounded, or being fined up to $1,000. You will also most likely have to go through an alcohol and drug education program to start driving again.
Second-time offenders can see their potential jail time doubled. They could also be mandated to put breathalyzer tests in their car, which prohibit it from starting if the person is under the influence. Potential fines are higher, too, capping off at $1,750. Third, fourth, and fifth time offenders face felony charges and escalating fines up to $2,500. If you get five DUI convictions, you might never be able to drive again.
Additional Circumstances to Take Into Account
The severity of your DUI matters too. For example, if a child under the age of 14 was in the car with you, you could expect an additional month of jail time. If you injured someone, expect jail time to be on the table as well. These potential sentences increase depending on how many DUIs you’ve had and what your blood alcohol level was at the time.
When Alcohol Is Not Involved
Not all DUIs are alcohol-related. Certain medications, as well as marijuana, are considered catalysts for DUIs. If you’re driving with or under the influence of marijuana, you could also face drug charges in Kansas.
Understanding the Particulars of Your Case in Kansas
A DUI arrest is certainly scary, but it’s not automatically a DUI conviction. You still have the right to hire an attorney who will help you fight your case to the prosecutor. In addition, reasonable doubt is still applicable in DUI cases, which is why finding good legal counsel might help you salvage your driver’s license or even avoid jail time.
Fight Your DUI Case
Getting charged with a DUI is just the beginning of your case. Nothing is set in stone until the conviction. Good DUI attorneys will fight for you to ensure that no stone is left unturned and that you’re getting a fair trial. There are plenty of things that the average layperson doesn’t know about Kansas DUI law. Depending on the circumstances, you might be able to have the charges minimized or even thrown out.
Faulty or Incomplete Tests
A DUI charge hinges on both a field sobriety and a blood alcohol level test. There are certain protocols in place for administering both of these tests, and if they’re not followed, the validity of your charge could be called into account. You can fail field sobriety tests if you have certain medical conditions, including inner ear problems, arthritis, or brain injuries. If you have any of these, your field sobriety test could be compromised or even thrown out.
Sometimes police officers will ask you to submit to a blood alcohol test after you’ve passed your field sobriety test, which could get the charge thrown out. Since police officers are required to have bodycams, this evidence could be called and presented before the judge to give you a more favorable outcome. Breathalyzer tests are often held up as the gold standard when it comes to DUIs, but a malfunctioning test could get your conviction thrown out.
Even if you’re weaving, the police cannot pull you over without a justification. You need to have violated a specific law, such as crossing a yellow or white line. If you’re simply weaving in your lane, your case could be easily overturned. Similarly, the police are prohibited from making an illegal traffic stop. The onus is on them to prove why they’re pulling you over, even if you do fail a field sobriety test. All of these factors could work in your favor and help you reduce or even eliminate DUI charges.
Although many police officers are aware of exactly how to conduct DUI tests properly, many of them aren’t. If you’ve been pulled over without just cause by a police officer who doesn’t follow protocol, you absolutely need to talk to an attorney who can help you keep your license and avoid jail time. DUIs can ruin your life financially and have lasting ramifications. If you are served with jail time or have a felony charge levied against you, it could cause you to lose your job, jeopardize future job opportunities, or even cause you problems finding housing.
Call Attorneys You Can Trust
Good lawyers who deal with DUI charges understand that there are rarely black and white cases. It’s important to explain all of the details of your case in order to get the best possible deal in court. Remember, it’s not over simply because you’ve been charged. Often, it’s just the beginning of a long process that could either work out in your favor or cause you a lot of problems down the road.
You need an attorney who’s seen it all and is not afraid to challenge the prosecutor’s case. By calling your specific circumstances into account and forensically looking at all of the evidence, they can help lessen the charges.
At Billiam & Henderson, LLC, we will fight to make sure that you have a fair day in court and expose weak evidence for what it is. Our team can forensically pull apart your case to get you the justice that you deserve and help you beat your DUI charge so that you can keep your license. Contact Billiam & Henderson, LLC today at 913-380-4035 to learn more today.